Parish Details


Address: 146 Ballagh Road, Fivemiletown, Co Tyrone, BT75 0QP

Phone: 028 – 89521291


About this Parish

This extensive parish is the result of a merger of the the parishes of Aghavea and Aghintaine in 1985.

The parish of Aghintaine, which was coterminous with the Church of Ireland parish of Fivemiletown plus parts of old Aghavea, was created out of Clogher parish in 1870 by the then Bishop of Clogher, Dr James Donnelly. This was followed by the building of a new church in Fivemiletown, dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary and St Tiarnach, dedicated on 5 May 1872. The Aghavea portion of today's parish was created in the early 19th century, by a merger of the eastern portion of Aghalurcher with the old parish of Aghavea, a parish that can be traced as far back as the Taxation of 1306. The earliest church of the parish was in the townland of Aghavea, most likely on the site of the present Church of Ireland church there.

In addition to Fivemiletown and Brookeboro, today's parish also includes the extensive rural area of Coonian where there has been a church since circa 1795. St Mary's church in Brookeboro was completed in 1857.

Saints Associated with the Parish:  St Lasair, feastday 13 November. She was educated with St Molaisse of Devenish.      

Parish Team

Very Rev Brendan Gallagher PP

Address: Parochial House, Fivemiletown, Co. Tyrone BT 75 0QP

Phone: 028-89521291


Very Rev Canon Laurence Dawson PE

Address: 25 Teiges Hill, Brookeborough, Co. Fermanagh BT94 4EZ

Phone: 028-89531770


Churches and Mass Times

St Mary’s

Address: Brookeboro Co Fermanagh

Mass Times:


St Mary’s

Address: Fivemiletown, Co Tyrone

Mass Times:


St Joseph’s

Address: Coonian, Co Fermanagh

Mass Times:



St Mary’s PS Brookeboro

Address: Brookeboro

Phone: 028-89531469

Principal: Sheila Mullin


St Mary’s PS Fivemiletown

Address: Fivemiletown

Phone: 028-89521315

Principal: Brian McCloskey