Appointment of new Canon

Canon Owen J McEneaney.

Bishop Larry Duffy, Bishop of Clogher, has appointed Fr Owen Joe McEneaney PP, Ballybay (Tullycorbet) and Adm of Latton (Aughnamullen West) and Rockcorry (Ematris) parishes, to be a member of the Diocesan Chapter of Canons. A native of Raferagh in Carrickmacross parish, Canon McEneaney has been PP of Tullycorbet since October 2017, having previously been Prior of Lough Derg and Adm of Pettigo and, before that, Adm of Monaghan and Rackwallace (Cathedral parish).

The Diocesan Chapter is made up of Canons who are appointed by the bishop to carry out functions that are entrusted to it by Canon Law or by the bishop. The twelve members of the Diocesan Chapter also fulfil the role of College of Consultors in the Diocese of Clogher, thereby acting as senior advisers to the bishop and, in the event of a vacant See, electing a Diocesan Administrator when required to do so. (See Code of Canon Law, no’s 502-510).

Previous articleFramework Document for a return to public celebration of Mass and the Sacraments
Next articleLourdes Pilgrimage goes Virtual – 3-8 July –