Pentecost Ecumenical Service at St Sillian’s, Tyholland, 4 June 2017

St Sillian’s Church, Tyholland.

The following is the text of a Joint Press Release issued by the Roman Catholic and Church of Ireland Dioceses of Clogher.

          PRESS RELEASE        



 Monday, 22 May 2017. For immediate Release

2017 Joint Ecumenical Service on Day of Pentecost.

On the afternoon of Sunday 4 June 2017 at 3pm, the Day of Pentecost, the annual ecumenical service that has customarily been led by both Bishops of Clogher will take place this year at St Sillian’s Church, Tyholland, Co Monaghan, followed by refreshments in the Tyholland Community Centre.

The Church of Ireland Bishop of Clogher, the Rt Rev John McDowell, and the Rt Rev. Monsignor Joseph McGuinness, Roman Catholic Diocesan Administrator of the Diocese of Clogher, will lead this special annual service, together with local clergy. The address will be given by the Most Rev. Noel Treanor, the Roman Catholic Bishop of Down and Connor, who is a native of Tyholland. During the service two young people will give their reflections on Pentecost, and the singing will be led by musicians from the local area.

The origins of the Christian community of Tyholland can be traced to the fifth century, the time of St Patrick. Scholars of the period and of Irish saints point to an account in the Tripartite Life of St Patrick in which they tell us: ‘Patrick came to Teach Taláin, now Tehallan [or Tyholland], where he left a bishop named Cillín and other followers’. (Ó Ríain, Dictionary of Irish Saints, 2011). The present church of St Sillian’s dates from the late 1700s.

The Day of Pentecost marks the end of the fifty-day season of Easter. Moreover, it marks the descent of the Holy Spirit in the upper room and the beginning of apostolic preaching, thus marking a defining moment in the origin of the Christian Church. Christian associations with the feast begin with Acts of the Apostles 2: 1-45.

A warm invitation is extended to all to join in this occasion.


Notes to Editors:

  1. St Sillian’s Church of Ireland church at Tyholland is located off the N12 route between Monaghan and Armagh, at Monaghan Mushrooms premises. Car parking will be available at Monaghan Mushrooms.
  2. The Diocese of Clogher covers all of County Monaghan, most of County Fermanagh and portions of Counties Tyrone, Donegal, Louth and Cavan.
  3. Right Rev John McDowell is the Church of Ireland Bishop of Clogher.
  4. Right Rev. Joseph McGuinness is the Diocesan Administrator of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Clogher since 3 October 2016, following the retirement of Most Rev Liam MacDaid as bishop. Mgr McGuinness is also the Administrator of the Roman Catholic Parish of Tyholland.
  5. Elizabeth Thompson is Non-Stipendiary Minister serving in the parish of Tyholland and also of the neighbouring parishes of Donagh and Errigal Truagh.
  6. Most Rev Noel Treanor is a native of Tyholland and was ordained a priest of the Diocese of Clogher in June 1976. He has been Bishop of Down and Connor since June 2008. He was Secretary-General of the Commission of the Bishops’ Conferences of the European Community (COMECE) from 1993 until his appointment as bishop, and during this period he was based in Brussels.


Previous articleANNUAL ‘LAUDATO SI’ DAY on Sat 3 June in Enniskillen
Next articleOpening of 2017 Lough Derg Pilgrimage Season – Homily by Mgr McGuinness